2005 Million Writers Award

Final Judge for the 2005 Million Writers Award

Jason Sanford is the publisher and fiction editor of storySouth and a three-time judge of the Minnesota Book Awards (most recently judging the fiction category). Jason is also a former senior editor with Meadowbrook Press, a commercial publishing company distributed by Simon & Schuster. He is the winner of a Minnesota State Arts Board Fellowship and his stories have been published in magazines such as the Mississippi Review, Beloit Fiction Journal, Ache Magazine, and Pindeldyboz. Learn more about Jason Sanford and read his writings, or read Jason's storySouth essays.

Preliminary Judges for the 2005 Million Writers Award:

Sefi Atta was born in Lagos, Nigeria and lives in Meridian, Mississippi. She was a finalist for the Million Writers Award in 2003 and her novel, Everything Good Will Come, was recently published.

Rusty Barnes co-founded and oversees Night Train.

Scott Esposito is a writer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. He has written for various publications, including Rain Taxi Review of Books. His literary blog is Conversational Reading.

Megan Powell spends an awful lot of time reading, writing, and puttering on the computer. Her online editing efforts include the webzines Shred of Evidence and Fables. Megan's most recent anthology, Crossings, was published last summer and her novel Waxing is scheduled for release this year.

Dan Wickett reads vast quantities of literary fiction and runs the Emerging Writers Network.

In addition, there were two other judges who wished to remain anonymous.

Return to Million Writers Award main page